Friday, August 7, 2009

Ford garners another preseason honor

ORANGEBURG, SC – Preseason honors continue to come for South Carolina State running back Will Ford, last year’s Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference rushing leader and league Offensive Player of the Year.
Ford, a 5-10, 200 Bulldog senior, was named to the 2009 Phil Steele Preseason FCS All-America team released Wednesday (Jul. 15). Ford earned a berth on the second team.
It is the third preseason All-America team the Travelers Rest native has been named to. He earlier landed berths on the first team of both the Consensus Draft and Sports Network squads. Ford is also on the preseason Payton Watch List, from which the top offensive player in the FCS is chosen.
In addition, Ford is one of eight Bulldogs named to the 2009 Phil Steele Preseason All-MEAC squad. He is joined on the first team by junior OL Johnny Culbreath, senior LB Marshall McFadden and senior safety Markee Hamlin.
SC State players earning second team honors include senior WR Oliver (Tre’) Young, sophomore OL Juavahr Nathan, junior LB Julius Wilkerson and junior DL Markus James.
Ford was the catalyst for a 2008 SC State squad that posted a 10-3 overall record and was undefeated at 8-0 in capturing the MEAC title and an automatic berth to the FCS playoffs. He rolled up 1,499 yards -- including a record eight 100-plus yard games -- and added 13 touchdowns for the Bulldogs.

No comments :

Post a Comment