Wednesday, August 26, 2009

SC State Fans Can Decide MEAC/SWAC Challenge Payton Achievement Winner

Three Bulldogs are Vying for the Covet Award

MEAC/SWAC Challenge Update

Bragging rights in black college football are not the only thing up for grabs at this year’s MEAC/SWAC Challenge on Sunday, Sept. 6.Three players from both South Carolina State and Grambling are in the running for the Walter Payton Achievement Award presented annually to a player from each of the schools participating in the MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney.
Three finalists from each school were selected by a committee consisting of academic advisers and coaches. Earning the nod from S.C. State are Otis Key (Sr., DL), Marshall McFadden (Sr., LB), who’s out for the season with a broken wrist, and S.C. State Student President Zachary Middleton (Jr., DL). Grambling State’s nominees are Gabriel Fleming (So., DB), Van Phillips (So., WR) and Stephen Tripp (Sr., LB).For the first time ever, fans will determine the winners via online voting at The winners will be announced Sept. 1, and will be honored at the MEAC/SWAC Challenge Kickoff Banquet on Sept. 4.

No comments :

Post a Comment